Recipes

Unicorn Bark!

Been a while, hasn’t it?

Really though, it’s been a bit of a crazy time. My dog, Romeo, was finally driven from California to Pennsylvania, and I couldn’t be happier to have him back! He’s getting along with his new sister, and he even gets to sniff a reluctant kitty from time to time.

I also made a big decision and quit my job as the Michael’s florist. (Sorry, no more flower arrangement photos!) I did this in order to follow my dream of staying home and making money on my own time. Whether that will be done via crochet pattern sales, ebooks, or some business venture I’ve yet to discover, I can’t say for sure. Right now it’s lots of research and google docs full of ideas, but I’ll certainly keep updating the status of my “work from home” lifestyle.

But anyways, on to the fun stuff.

Every year my tiny tow of about 500 people hosts a community yard sale, and everyone has their sale on the same day. People come from the city to poke around and look for good deals, and I figured I could make a little money with a bake sale.

While the idea of Unicorn bark was a fun way to get people to stop, I can’t exactly advocate its money-making ability. It cost me about $10 in supplies, and I couldn’t sell it for more than $1.50 a bag. But I will say it came out adorable, and lots of people stopped to ask me about it!

19875657_1400785413338127_9030872932939607849_n

I used white chocolate and red, purple, blue, and green food dye. The green is very light and marbled with the white bottom layer just for some interest, and the pink and purple are more visibly marbled. The blue was drizzled lightly over the top, and finally, a splash of rainbow nonpareils added the touch of magic it was missing.

Not bad for my first bark!

4 thoughts on “Unicorn Bark!

  1. I used to love bake sales!! The profit is all in how much you’re able to sell. When I did mine, I only did them twice a year during the biggest yard sales. At that time, I’d make lemon cookies and sell them individually or in packs of 3, and I’d make anywhere from 100 to 200 depending on how the weather was going to look.

    Something I’ve been considering lately is selling my gyoza. I’ve got a little camping stove and a grease fryer so I could sell them pan fried or deep fried and in “packs” of 5 and keep the uncooked ones in a freezer or cooler. If I made around 60 (the usual amount) and sold them like that, I’d only have to sell 5 packs to make profit.

    Late night rambling but I hope you do more bake sales!

    Like

    1. I think you could absolutely sell little thinga so like that to offices who order lunch, if you could fill a Styrofoam container with Asian food. Just one or two options to make it simple.

      The problem with my price and yield was lthat I made my bark waaaay too thick! Layering on those colors really stacked up.

      Like

  2. I realized the wording on my last comment was a little awkward, so what I meant to say was that if you’re able to produce a lot with the ingredients you buy then you’re more likely to make profit so when you’re doing a bake sale make sure that your recipe has a high yield.

    Like

Leave a Reply

